10 year anniversary coming up

 

In November, blink-182’s self-titled album turns ten. The past few years when I’ve asked myself “What is my favorite album of all time?” I always end up thinking of this one. It is without doubt the record that has inspired and influenced me the most ever since its release. About a year ago, I started thinking about which album I would choose to listen to the rest of my life, if I could only pick one. The answer is: this one. The reason I would choose it is because it includes a lot of different sounds and emotions, which means it would be suitable for various occasions. And it would take longer to get tired of it (if I ever would).

When blink started to tease their fans with different Instagram images hinting that some kind of self-titled 10 year anniversary announcement was coming up, you can imagine how excited I was. Just like bands in general, blink rarely come to Scandinavia to play, so I said to myself: “If a self-titled tour is coming up, I’m fucking flying to wherever to see it with my own eyes.” To hear blink play this record in its entirety would be a dream come true to many of us blink fans.

After a few days of teasing, building up huge expectations among the fans, blink-182 made the announcement: the band will play two ten year anniversary shows in November. In America. In California. Well, both shows will actually be in Hollywood, to be more specific. In a relatively small venue. My thoughts: “What in the name of FUCK?!” Don’t get me wrong, I’m not trying to sound ungrateful. Of course I’m very happy that they’re even doing this to celebrate the record. There will also be a KROQ show which is said to be webcast live, which is really cool. But the thing is, I’m disappointed. Very disappointed. If they only wanted to do two performances they could’ve at least made them in different continents.

Ok. I’m going to try to accept how things are and be glad for the people who will actually be able to experience this. I’m glad blink are doing shows. The self-titled record deserves to be celebrated, not only because a lot of people love it but because I think it has contributed to its scene. It’s an important album. Let’s hope I’ll be able to catch the live streaming from KROQ on November 7th.

Leave a comment

Filed under alternative rock

Leave a Reply

