Vinyette

A few months ago (yes, it took me long to finally write this post) a band called Vinyette emailed me and told me about their music. They were just about to release a music video for their song Tattoo Crazy. Summer passed, I was quite busy with school and my two bachelor theses. I hardly wrote anything here, I believe. All of a sudden I finally left the university and moved to Stockholm (hey, I’m a real teacher now. Yay me!). Lots of things to fix in the new apartment, very tired every day after work. You know. Life. But I thought about the guys in Vinyette from time to time, and listened to their tunes on Soundcloud every now and then. And today it’s time to tell the rest of you about these guys.

Vinyette make alternative rock music with indie influences and I believe they’ve written a bio somewhere where they explain their use of funk and blues ingredients. What I like about Vinyette is that their songs have quite different sounds. I like that in musicians; the ability to show different sides and sounds of yourself. My two favorite Vinyette songs are MDP and Meatball Love Tone.

This one, MDP, takes me back to the 90’s. To me, there is just a garage smelling grunge feeling to the whole thing. I really dig it. It sounds raw.

If you listen to Meatball Love Tone you can probably hear the smooth guitars in the background. Smells like the 80’s. I can’t help but think about The Cure. Not in a “this sounds like The Cure” kind of way. Meatball Love Tone just has something that leads me to The Cure. I like that feeling. It’s captivating.

You can easily stream some cool Vinyette songs on their Soundcloud page. You can also download a bunch of tracks for free on their website. They are also on Spotify. Thanks for sharing your music, Vinyette!

Vinyette currently have 39 listeners on Last.fm.

Leave a comment

Filed under alternative rock, free music, indie rock

Leave a Reply

