30 songs: 3

3: A song with no lyrics.

The first song that came to my mind was Raein by Ólafur Arnalds. Definitely one of my favorite instrumental songs. (By the way, it seems like it’s still possible to download the whole Found Songs record for free here.)

But as I kept thinking about instrumental music I’ve been into over the years, I also recalled how I listened quite a bit to Mulatu Astatke a few years ago. Yègellé Tezeta is probably his most famous song, as well as my favorite:

Yet another instrumental track I am very fond of is Sometimes I Just Go For It by The Used. I like it because it’s different from other music they have released. Most likely because it was released as an “idea” rather than anything else, and I’m glad it was left like that. Just a demo, neither more nor less.

Leave a comment

Filed under ambient, ethio jazz, free music

Leave a Reply

