30 songs: 7

7: A song that is your guilty pleasure.

I don’t believe in guilty pleasures. What’s the point of feeling “guilty” for enjoying a specific song or genre or whatever? Sounds are vibrations that your ears register, and upon that I guess your brain decides whether it’s fond of the sound or not. That’s it. Seems pretty useless feeling guilty about your brain reacting positively a melody or voice, right? If you think it’s a big deal that you find Justin Bieber’s Baby catchy, you’re wrong. This world truly has bigger issues.

Growing up in the 90’s and early 00’s, I’ve sure spent a lot of time listening to top hits from those years. Owning few albums that I listened to on repeat for weeks, my walls covered in pictures of pop stars, patiently waiting by the radio to record a favorite song, reading Sweden’s biggest pop magazine at the time front-to-back as soon as I received it in the mail – fascinated by the lives of my idols and other musicians. I’m aware that most people would consider commercial pop from this period embarrassing, lousy and/or soulless, and therefore refer to it as a “guilty pleasure” if ever admitting to like it. Or perhaps they’d clarify that they do like it, but they like it ironically. The hipster way.

My brain appreciates pop music from the 90’s and 00’s – among much else – whether I am comfortable with that or not. I don’t listen to my former pop idols very often anymore, but when I do stumble upon them I have no problem embracing the memories those songs evoke and enjoying them for what they are: vibrations that my ears register and that my brain has decided to like. Here’s one of those songs that is not a guilty pleasure, by merely a pleasure:

Leave a comment

Filed under pop

Leave a Reply

